Cages and Studios

It seems timely to add an image done completely on paper as I’ve just relocated my studio on campus and I’m gearing up to be able to switch back and forth between digital and wet media. I now have a space that is truly private and peaceful looking southwest toward the Flatirons of Boulder. 

 I’ve built a few more terrariums that help set the mood of the place and even though it doesn’t look like much in this picture, it’s absolutely perfect. As I set out to work more on the graphic novel, I feel like the space needs to be suited for writing as well as drawing, and both require a stable environment for periods of intense focus. 

So scanning an old image from last year’s sketch book really feels right. Especially as the image celebrates the beauty of the cage as safe from the outside world as well as being influenced by it. The single ant drawn in one of the cages helps orient the scale. My studio is just as miniscule depending on how far away from me you are. How far away are you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

