Casting Call

First real drawing in a while. This is the latest line up of characters for the new issue of Sydney Arthur. You can see the mother in there (Jane) from some earlier sketches. This was a blast to create. I inked it large as a 20×14 drawing and then took a photo of it and converted it to a live trace document in Illustrator. Glad to have a little visual reference while I keep writing the story longhand. 

Had a midterm review today and felt satisfied that I’m at least heading in the right direction. It’s a fantastic process, but so multi-layered trying to write a book that I will also create visuals for. The whole finished project seems so far away and so close at the same time. I know I can do it, it’s just a matter of how soon. I’ve applied to have a table at the Alternative Press Expo (APE) in San Francisco next fall. I’m going to fly out Oct 31st for a glimpse at this year’s. I’m extremely excited about the prospect of self-publishing a mini-comic that can serve as an excerpt for next years book that I will show. Hopefully I’ll have something to hand around this year when I visit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

